Join our email list!

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox
Thank you for subscribing

4 Types of Multiple Sclerosis


news_17_Artboard 343 copy 320

There are four disease courses that have been identified in multiple sclerosis:
clinically isolated syndrome (CIS); relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS); primary progressive MS (PPMS); and secondary progressive MS (SPMS).

1. Clinically Isolated Syndrome: With neurologic symptoms caused by inflammation and demyelination in the central nervous system, this first episode — which must last at least 24 hours, according to definition — is typical of multiple sclerosis but does not yet meet the criteria for a diagnosis of the disease. People who have a clinically isolated syndrome will not necessarily go on to develop multiple sclerosis. An MRI will better determine the likelihood that someone who has a CIS will develop MS. If lesions on a brain MRI are seen with CIS, there is a higher chance the patient will develop MS.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *