4 Types of MS You Should Know


There are four disease courses that have been identified in multiple sclerosis: clinically isolated syndrome (CIS), relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS), primary progressive MS (PPMS), and secondary progressive MS (SPMS).

To help you understand each type of MS a little better, we’ve put together this list.


A 24-hour episode of neurologic symptoms caused by inflammation and demyelination in the central nervous system is typical of multiple sclerosis but having an episode, by definition, does not  meet the criteria for a diagnosis of multiple sclerosis. People who have clinically isolated syndrome will not necessarily go on to develop multiple sclerosis. An MRI will better determine the likelihood that someone who has a CIS will develop MS. If lesions on a brain MRI are seen with CIS, there is a higher chance for the patient to develop MS.

Find out more about clinically isolated syndrome and multiple sclerosis development.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *