Join our email list!

Get daily updates delivered to your inbox
Thank you for subscribing

4 Types of Multiple Sclerosis to Be Aware Of


There are four disease courses that have been identified in multiple sclerosis: clinically isolated syndrome (CIS), relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS), primary progressive MS (PPMS), and secondary progressive MS (SPMS).

To help you understand each type of MS a little better, we’ve put together this list.


A 24-hour episode of neurologic symptoms caused by inflammation and demyelination in the central nervous system is typical of multiple sclerosis but having an episode, by definition, does not  meet the criteria for a diagnosis of multiple sclerosis. People who have clinically isolated syndrome will not necessarily go on to develop multiple sclerosis. An MRI will better determine the likelihood that someone who has a CIS will develop MS. If lesions on a brain MRI are seen with CIS, there is a higher chance for the patient to develop MS.

Find out more about clinically isolated syndrome and multiple sclerosis development.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

One comment

  1. Tom says:

    I think that these classifications are artificial. We all have MS. Different stages, locations, rates and amount of damage. Attack on the brain from the periphery and slow destruction within. These false distinctions split up patients into different treatment groups, when we all need drugs to stop immune system attacks, both within and outside of the brain, as well as repair drugs. Look further than conventional wisdom to current research.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *