Neurologist Robert Lisak named 2023 Giant of Multiple Sclerosis

Award honors 10 'pioneers and leaders' in the field of MS

Patricia Inacio, PhD avatar

by Patricia Inacio, PhD |

Share this article:

Share article via email
brain blood vessels | Multiple Sclerosis News Today | illustration of a person's brain

Neurologist Robert Lisak, MD, has been named a 2023 Giant of Multiple Sclerosis for his work in understanding the mechanisms of multiple sclerosis (MS) and improving care for people with the condition.

Lisak, MD, a professor of neurology and former chair of the Wayne State University Department of Neurology, was named Giant of MS in the neurology category by  NeurologyLive and the Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers (CMSC). The award recognizes his continuous engagement with the MS community to keep patients and their families up to date on the most recent advances in MS research and providing them the best care.

Lisak also served as the neurologist-in-chief of the Detroit Medical Center from 1987 to 2011, and as chief of neurology at Harper University Hospital from 1987 to 2012.

“I am pleased to have been recognized for what has been an honor for me, providing diagnosis and care, importantly including coordinating multidisciplinary care, as well as support to patients and their families with multiple sclerosis for over 50 years at both the University of Pennsylvania and since 1987 at Wayne State University and the Detroit Medical Center,” Lisak said in a university press release.

“By practicing with a team approach and by also conducting clinical, basic and translational research, I hope I have provided the most up-to-date care for patients with multiple sclerosis and related disorders,” Lisak added.

Recommended Reading
Hands hold a graph shows positive results in a clinical trial over time.

Mavenclad benefits for MS sustained up to 15 years after last treatment

Award seeks to celebrate healthcare professionals, advocates

Launched by NeurologyLive and the CMSC in 2021, the Giants of Multiple Sclerosis award seeks to distinguish and celebrate MS healthcare professionals and advocates who have improved the lives of those affected by MS.

Individuals who made breakthrough advances in MS can be nominated by their peers for the Giants of Multiple Sclerosis awards.

All applications are then reviewed by the Giants of Multiple Sclerosis Steering Committee, a group of leaders in MS clinical care, who select the honorees for one of 10 categories. In addition to neurology, these include global impact, mental health, neuroimaging, nursing, patient advocacy, patient care, pharmacy, rehabilitation, and research.

From a list of more than 200 candidates, 10 were selected for the 2023 class of Giants of Multiple Sclerosis.

“We’d like to congratulate each and every single member of this year’s class of inductees on this enormous honor,” said Mike Hennessy Jr., president and chief executive officer of MJH Life Sciences, the parent company of NeurologyLive. “They are all pioneers and leaders within the multiple sclerosis community who have clearly made a lasting impact on both patients and their peers.”

“The Giants of MS awards program recognizes the unique model of care in multiple sclerosis: the team approach. MS care is a health and wellness approach, and this recognition program validates the contributions of all specialists,” added June Halper, CEO of CMSC and the International Organization of Multiple Sclerosis Nurses.

The awards will be given to the 10 honorees during the 2023 CMSC annual meeting, running from May 30 to June 3. The award ceremony will take place 7:45-10 p.m. June 1 at the Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center in Aurora, Colorado. To attend, participants must be registered for the annual meeting.

Damian Washington video 2 thumbnail